A Trip to the Library

September 14, 2008

The three of us are just rousing after our post-library naps. Yes, we made it to the central branch of the library in downtown Phoenix – I’d forgotten how many malodorous people congregate at the downtown branch.  But it’s such a beautiful branch.  And I am never more content than when I’m browsing bookshelves – specifically library shelves – bookstore shelves are too desperate for my money, but library bookshelves just want my love – which I’m more than willing to give.

And bookshelves devoted to musical theatre?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bliss.

But then I had to try and figure out what song to sing.  And I still have no idea.  Here are the contenders:

“Will He Like Me,” She Loves Me
“Cabaret,” Cabaret
“Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend,” Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
“I’m a Brass Band,” Sweet Charity

Oh crap.  I just realized I forgot to get a song from Guys and Dolls, which was probably perfect.  Here’s the problem – not having a piano in the house, I don’t know if the sheet music is in the same key as the recorded music on my ipod.  So it’s quite likely that I’ll pick a song, show up for the audition, hear the opening music and realize I have no hope of hitting the notes in that key.  This isn’t just paranoia – it’s happened before, and there’s just nothing like that feeling of imminent doom (oh God here comes the last note!) to make a girl crawl into her hidey-hole forever.

But what can I do?  Pick the closest possibility and hope for the best.  So that’s what I’ll do.  …And maybe go over to my mom’s house and see if she’s had the piano tuned in the last 20 years.

Moo and Herbie came along on my library adventure, and before we left I remembered that my friend Rosalind (she’s a truly amazing photographer) has admired the light on the top floor, so we had a little mini photo shoot.  Wanna see?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Brought to you by the authors of “Start Your Own Coin-Operated Laundry!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Just to clarify, these pictures were taken by Herbie and me.  Rosalind’s photos are much better.

5 Responses to “A Trip to the Library”

  1. Rosalind Says:

    Excellent use of your light source and I LOVE Moo’s dress.

  2. Bitchin' Cat Says:

    She is indeed the cutest little girl ever!

    (I here that comes from the Godfather’s side)

    😉

  3. mamarose Says:

    Hee!

  4. calicobebop Says:

    She sure is adorable! We love the library too – Diamonds aren’t a girl’s best friend, books are! 😉

  5. babypussy4me Says:

    mmmmmmmmmm love to stri p hernaked and make her feel good, I love babypussy


Leave a comment