My New Philosophy

April 17, 2011

As my last show concluded, my theatre season ended – well, except for general auditions at Phoenix Theatre next month.  But I don’t have any shows on the horizon, and school is ending for Moo. So I lay in bed one night listening to Herbie breathing next to me and Juice breathing on the monitor, and I looked ahead and looked inward and thought, “What now?  What next?”

I developed a rather undeveloped new life philosophy which goes like this – Yes.  Yes, I will be on Moo’s preschool board.  Yes, I would love to be on the theater’s artistic committee.  Yes I will try something new, Yes I will talk to more people.  Yes I will try that shade of eyeshadow, Yes I will commit to Zumba, Yes I will try to write for magazines instead of just reading them.  Yes I will put myself out there as much as I possibly can in a genuine way….and we’ll see what happens.

My mom said, “Oh, the ol’ throw-everything-at-the-wall-and-see-what-sticks approach.”

Yes.

And maybe something will eventually lead to me getting paid some money.  That would be nice.

3 Responses to “My New Philosophy”

  1. Katy Says:

    Sounds like a good plan. I’m thinking about doing the throw-everything-at-the-wall thing by sending out letters to the Artistic Directors of Phoenix Theatre, Arizona Theatre Company, Hale, and some other theaters asking if I can sit in on any upcoming rehearsals and/or shadow the choreographers. I don’t want a job or an internship or any kind of compensation…I just want to watch how things work at a professional level. NO IDEA if this will work or not, but I guess sending out letters can’t hurt.

    • mamarose Says:

      I think that’s an excellent idea! Plus I love the kind of putting-yourself-out-there where you don’t actually have to talk to people face-to-face. And you’re such a good writer, I know your letters will be perfect. Certainly ONE of them would say yes! By the way, you should definitely go to some of PT’s Summer of Dance classes this year (assuming they do it again) – they’re so much fun and usually taught by people who work for PT.

      • Katy Says:

        AHH I hope they do Summer of Dance again! I really want to go.
        And SERIOUSLY, Phoenix Theatre, “General Auditions will be at the end of May” should mean that General Auditions will be at the end of May! Not “happening in five seconds, hope you’re ready.” Gah.


Leave a Reply

