Not Ready For Primetime

March 28, 2011

I don’t think I would characterize this show as a personal performance highlight.  It’s a good show – I’m just not sure I’m that great in it.  And I’m really not looking for anyone to stroke my ego, just being honest.

I’m not quite sure what’s wrong with me.  Am I really that tired?  Am I the kind of performer that requires more than four weeks’ rehearsal?  Do I just really need more training?  Whatever the excuse, I keep messing up.  The small screw-ups in staging, I can forgive myself – people probably don’t notice those very much.  But singing the wrong notes…repeatedly?  Forgetting lyrics??  What the hell?  It’s humiliating.  Even worse, I’m missing notes and lyrics on songs I’ve sung in previous shows.  What is wrong with me?

I wish I could enjoy this more.  But I’m too busy whacking myself on the forehead.  And wondering why on Earth a professional theater would ever consider hiring me. 

How’s that for a depressed post?  Nonetheless, here are some pictures of my sunny yellow, non-transparent  dress (maybe that will cheer me up)…

3 Responses to “Not Ready For Primetime”

  1. from the wings Says:

    Maybe it is time to channel Jerry Orbach and consider every performance a chance to put on an even better show. Chin up Mama. You’re doing great.

  2. kristi Says:

    DIS.A.GREE. You were fabulous and I didn’t notice a single error! You’re your own worse critic. Excellent job!!!


Leave a Reply

