Under Construction

January 20, 2011

I was puttering about the house, cleaning a few dishes before it was time to leave to pick up Moo at preschool and head to the orthotist for Juice’s helmet (sorry:  “cranial band”).  And suddenly I burst into tears.

Because yes, his head does look fine, doesn’t it?

And maybe it wasn’t the right decision.

But mostly, because I missed Jude so damn much.

I needed to talk to Jude!  And not only because her son (now 4), had a cranial band when he was a baby.  But because I would call Jude, or probably email her, and she would reply, in a short paragraph, “Bup bup bup, bip bup bup bitty bup,” and it would be the perfect thing.  And the tension would slide off my shoulders, and I would feel confident in my decision again, and loved and supported by my friend.

Instead, I fiddled with my Pisces necklace and muttered, “bup bup bup,” to myself – which is not nearly as reassuring.

Dislike.

On the bright side, the orthotist said he might only need to wear it for a few weeks, instead of a few months like we thought.  So…yeah. 

Bup bup bup.

3 Responses to “Under Construction”

  1. Beth H Says:

    I’m sure it’s really difficult to put your baby in a “cranial band,” but just remember what a crazy-short time period this will be in the grand scheme of his life. I bet he will be glad you did it.

  2. from the wings Says:

    Don’t worry Mama. We’re being good parents. And he is still a happy healthy boy. That ‘ol head just needs a nudge. Truth be told, I “burst” into tears when I first saw it on him at the office.

  3. kristi Says:

    You do realize he is still the second (hee) cutest baby boy on the planet?! Nothing could distract from those cutes!!!

    Bup bup bup. (I know, worse, probably) 😦


Leave a Reply

