Spring Show

January 18, 2011

This morning, I had to email my measurements to the costume designer for the upcoming show…

Hey, wait a minute – did I mention I’ve got a show coming up this spring?

And that I DIDN’T HAVE TO AUDITION?

Tra la, tra la…

The director of the show I did two years ago (You remember her, the woman who choreographed Mary Freaking Poppins!), and a woman I cherish, has decided to direct her “last show.”  She’s putting together an original revue with some of her favorite people, and that includes me!  I’m really honored to be a part of it, and I’m looking forward to working with some very talented people.  I don’t know what I’ll be doing in the show yet, but most likely I’ll revisit some songs she really liked from “The World Goes Round.”  The show opens at the end of March, and rehearsals don’t start until the end of February!  The short rehearsal period will be wonderful in terms of family management, but I’m a bit nervous about trying to get show-ready so quickly.

…Which brings me back to those costume measurements.  I’d really hoped to have more time before having to write down those unfortunate numbers.  But now they’re out there in the universe, betraying me, and it’s really time I got to work.  No more desserts.  No seriously, I’m done.  This one little mini Snickers was the LAST THING.  Wine is my new dessert – that doesn’t have calories, does it?  And then bellydancing (Wednesday night!), Just Dance 2 on Wii, crunches, and stretching.  If I’m serious about theatre, then I need to take how I look more seriously, too.

I plan to whittle a couple digits off those numbers by the time March comes around.  Sorry, “new shape” – I just don’t plan to keep you around.

4 Responses to “Spring Show”

  1. from the wings Says:

    I did also say that I thought you looked sexy no matter what. 😉 Congratulations on the new show. You earned that pre-cast.

  2. Bad Ass Muse Says:

    You rock!! So proud of you! I can’t wait to come see you again!

  3. Emily Says:

    Don’t forget you’re eating a commuter sandwich and a scone next week, you’ll have to start your healthy eating after that.


Leave a Reply

