Tech Week

November 8, 2010

Yesterday we moved from the rehearsal space to the theater, and we finally got a glimpse of our set.  Um, there are STAIRS.  I mean, I knew, in my brain that there would be stairs.  But these STAIRS reach quite high, and have no rail, and are of rather uneven height, and EEK!  Did I mention I’m supposed to run down them to my shrieking daughter?  Did I mention I’m supposed to run down them while wearing 2-inch heels?  Or are they 3-inch?  They feel four inches high when I try to run down rail-less stairs, in heels, while attempting to act (that part’s not going so well).  Haven’t broken anything yet.  I remain hopeful.

But besides fear-of-stairs, our set is pretty cool.  Our Macafee house, and all its furniture, packs inside its own little box, just like Moo’s Fisher Price playhouse, and as we start to wear our costumes and set lights – well, it’s starting to look like a real show!

Yesterday we rehearsed from 10:30 to 7:30.  (Lots of standing around, being lit, and nervously eyeing STAIRS.)  Tonight we go from 6 to 11, with costumes and makeup.  I shall attempt to tease and spray and curl my hair into something akin to June Cleaver’s hair.

…Why do I suddenly have the urge to bake cookies and make Herbie a cocktail?

3 Responses to “Tech Week”

  1. pam b Says:

    oh my.. i will *not* wish you “break a leg”.. yikes! you couldnt even get me to run in heels on a flat surface! best wishes – i am sure you will be fab!

  2. from the wings Says:

    Go with that instinct. Use your acting!

  3. badassmuse Says:

    Stairs on stage scare me silly – be careful!


Leave a Reply

