Fatigue

September 16, 2010

Driving home from visiting my friend Snow White last night, I almost blacked out.

That’s when it hit me that I am very, very tired.  Or possibly having a really slow stroke.

I got home and freaked out to Herbie and looked up symptoms of stroke and brain aneurysm online.  Sounds kinda silly now, but I was scared.  Matters of life and death are prevalent in my mind, and it’s so frightening to me how you never really know what’s going on inside your own body.  I was scared to go to sleep and never wake up.  Herbie encouraged me to drink lots of water and finally I crashed into bed.  Luckily, I have two children who are more than happy to remind me that I’m alive by repeatedly waking me up through the night.  Moo – bad dreams.  Juice – general babyness.

The next morning, I decided to chalk it up to fatigue.  And maybe, getting older.  I’ve reached the age where I have to admit my body is starting to be effected.  My back hurts from carrying around Juice all the time.  I can’t just skip eating and coast on fumes.  Apparently, I can’t dance five weeks after giving birth and expect my body to just tough it out – no, I popped a ligament and it’s unclear whether my turnout will ever be the same.  I have new lines around my eyes after this pregnancy.  My belly really doesn’t seem interested in returning to its previous size.

And I’m just so very tired.

What a great time to start rehearsals for a new show!

2 Responses to “Fatigue”

  1. Beth H Says:

    sounds like general fatigue to me, having had many of the same issues lately (minus the kids & dancing). i’m learning that it’s def. worth the time it takes to make yourself a decent meal & that you need to just relax sometimes, even if you think you “should” be doing something! we can’t always be multi-tasking, much as i would like to. take care of yourself, girl! : )

  2. from the wings Says:

    And then there is the problem with knowing you need sleep, wanting sleep, but when DO you sleep?


Leave a Reply

