Tidbits

September 3, 2010

Hey, where did I go?  And why the bloody hell aren’t I asleep RIGHT NOW??

Ah, blog guilt.

Here’s a bit of what we’ve been up to:

Juice

Blurbling, gurgling, happy-happy-happy, then AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH GAS!  Then sleep.  Then smiley, smiley…grunt-grunt…POOP.  Then BIG smiles.  Then AHHHHHHHHH I’M HUNGRY!  DAMMIT WOMAN WHERE IS MY FOOD!!

His hands are starting to open.  He’s trying to grab things, and trying to caress my face (MELT).  He detests tummy time.  And he has quite a flat head, so the doctor referred us to the dreaded helmet people.  Sigh.  We are supposed to have an evaluation with them as soon as possible to see if he really does need to wear a corrective helmet to round out his little head.  I asked the office lady if anybody ever went for an evaluation and didn’t end up getting the helmet.  She said no.  Dammit.

Moo:

Current favorite saying:  “Hey, Juice!  It’s your SISTAH!  Your silly SISTAH!”

First new word learned at preschool:  “butt” (from the teacher!).

Moo is basically a pure delight right now.  She’s got the potty thing pretty much down – only three accidents in all of August.  I can’t believe we survived.  I can’t believe there are parents out there who have to potty-train three or four or more children.  The horror, the horror.

But now, Moo just seems to constantly bounce around the house.  She delights in her role as her brother’s favorite person in the whole world, and she loves preschool and adores her teachers.  It is so strange for me to not know exactly what she was up to for a whole 2.5 hours, but I try to remember that the whole point of parenting is to teach them how to thrive without you.  Ugh.

Herbie and Me:

Herbie has fallen asleep on the couch every night this week – once with a beer in his hand, which he didn’t even spill!  Impressive.

I have inexplicably stayed up last almost every night this week, all the while figuratively banging myself on the head, saying “stupid, stupid, stupid!”  I just so relish the alone time.

We’re still getting up twice a night, except for two glorious nights in a row where Juice slept from 10 until 5.  So at least we can see a teeny, tiny gleam of light at the end of the Tunnel of Sleep Deprivation.

Rehearsals for “Bye Bye Birdie” will start in a couple weeks.  I’m hoping to receive the rehearsal schedule soon so I can start coordinating with the Team (Mom, Dad, Mother-in-Law, Father-in-Law – oh how I adore you all!).  Also, I found out that my blond rival did not get the part of Rosie.  It went to someone who looks quite a bit more Alvarezish than I do, so I cannot grumble and secretly put a hex on her.  She looks the part, whaddaya gonna do?  The part I am trying NOT to think about is that my rival did get offered a role, but turned it down.  So did she turn down the part that was then, and only then, offered to me?  Le sigh.  As Herbie reminds me, there is absolutely nothing helpful in that line of thinking.

It’s just that stopping yourself from thinking is so very, very hard.  Hey I know!  I’ll go to….zzzzzzzzzzzz.

….WAAAAAAAH!

Dammit.

3 Responses to “Tidbits”

  1. Beth H Says:

    thanks for this peek into your world – it was fun! glad Moo is doing so well; Juice will be great, too. the helmet thing is only temporary & later down the line i’m sure you’ll all be very glad he wore it. have fun with Bye, Bye Birdie!

  2. from the wings Says:

    A keen snapshot! I could probably fall asleep with a beer in each hand and not spill either one.

  3. Sonia Says:

    I agree with Herbie. After the show’s over you won’t be thinking about that. Only the wonderful experience you got to live through. Take me word on that.


Leave a Reply

