You and Me (and Moo)

May 29, 2010

Herbie and I are getting pretty sentimental here in these last few weeks before the baby comes…and it all seems to well up every time we hear “You and Me” by the Dave Matthews Band, which is a lot lately because we love the Groogrux King album.

I haven’t analyzed the lyrics.  All I know is that sometimes when Herbie comes home from work, and I’m getting dinner ready, and Moo is bouncing around Herbie’s legs, we’ll put the song on.  Herbie will scoop up Moo and dance around the kitchen while I watch over my shoulder.  Then Dave sings, “And when the kids are old enough, we’re gonna teach them to flyyyyy!” and Herbie lifts Moo up over his head and sure enough she’s flying with her arms outstretched, and I cry.

I think this song will always remind me of this precious time in our lives, these last few months when it was just the three of us.  We love this little baby boy so much already, and we’re so excited for the future – but damn, the last three years have been pretty incredible… and in fact, the last eight years haven’t been so bad, either.

I love you, Herbie.

One Response to “You and Me (and Moo)”

  1. kristi Says:

    I know exactly what you mean – with each new baby, I mourned the family I was losing. But as you know – it becomes such that I can only vaguely remember any other way than the way it is now!


Leave a Reply

