Mother’s Day

May 10, 2010

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all!

The weekend passed much too fast.  Saturday began with pancakes, as all good Saturdays should, and then we made an epically long to-do list in an effort to keep me from being depressed at having a messy, dirty house on mother’s day.  It worked!  And we even got Moo’s toenails trimmed, which is sort of like that scene in “Lost” where Sayid gets tortured by temple leader Dogen, except that instead of electricity and burning hot pokers, we used pink childproof trimmers with little teddy bears on them.

She was much happier when we painted them pink (even though I’m pretty sure I heard Herbie tsk-tsk-ing silently in his head).

Then we had dinner at my parents house and finally got a look at their London pictures (my mom is now determined to get herself a castle), and left Moo there for a sleepover so that we could go see “Date Night” – appropriate, since it could be one of our very last date nights for a while!

Early Sunday, I pulled on my Barney dress (like the large dino, not the upscale store), and we picked up Moo and my mom and dad for a surprise Mother’s Day outing that Herbie had arranged.  Our destination – Frank & Albert’s at the Arizona Biltmore, one of the most historic hotels in Arizona (designed by Frank Lloyd Wright), and a beautiful place to spend Mother’s Day.  After omelettes and French toast and a Happy Waffle for Moo, we explored the hotel…

…And then hit Mojo Yogurt for my new favorite thing in the world – coconut frozen yogurt topped with fresh strawberries, mini chocolate chips and rainbow sprinkles.  Afterwards, we all headed home, where Moo and I took four-hour naps.  Now THAT’s a happy Mother’s Day!

Well done, my Herbie.  Thank you for a lovely day!

And to my own lovely mother – I can never say thank you enough, for all that you do for me, and for all the joy you bring to my life and to Moo’s as well.  I love you!

5 Responses to “Mother’s Day”

  1. kristi Says:

    Oh, delightful! I LOVE Frank & Albert’s thanks to Rosalind. 🙂

  2. Mama Rose's Mama Says:

    Well done my daughter and my son-in-law. Indeed it was a lovely day!

  3. Cat Says:

    I’m going to be a fun sucker here, but it’s only because I feel very bad for Chase Albert McArthur. Who’s that you ask? The person who actually designed the Arizona Biltmore. I worked at their spa and I love the entire place, but I feel terrible for him because you have to dig to even find his name and it is so beautiful, I feel he should get credit where credit is due. He did study under Wright for two years and it was strongly influenced by Wright, but it is McArthur’s original work. The sprites that you see around property are Wright’s and were salvaged after the demolition of one of his buildings in Chicago and shipped here in pieces then reassembled for the property.

    • mamarose Says:

      No way! I’m a third generation native Arizonan and I never knew that – hey! that must be why the restaurant is called “Frank and Albert’s!” But it sounds like it should really just be called “Albert’s.”

      • Cat Says:

        When you work there you, spend the first two days just in historical orientation and tours of the property – it was fascinating. I always tell out of town guests taht it is worth visting. I wish I could be hired as a historian for the property and give tours of it to guests.


Leave a comment