Out From the Fog

April 8, 2010

I am just now making my slow return to the land of the living.  On Monday, I dragged myself to jury duty with a box of Kleenex in my purse, and waited for three hours before croaking to the judge, “3-year-old…7 months pregnant…” and was excused.

Then I got home and went rapidly downhill – apparently, cold symptoms can really intensify when you’re pregnant.  Tuesday my mom took pity on me and offered to watch Moo for a couple hours, and then Herbie rushed home to my rescue, and so I basically slept (gasping, my hands clutching crumpled Kleenexes) from noon Tuesday to noon yesterday, at which point I woke up and realized that the baby might be performing an Irish step dance in my tummy because he’s starving.  So I dragged myself out of bed, ate four pieces of toast, and circled the house looking longingly at the evidence of breakfast and playtime.  Herbie gallantly sacrificed a sick day to take care of Moo and whisked her off for germ-free fun while I lay in my stupor – that’s one less day to spend with the little one when he comes along.

I collapsed on the couch and cursed the congestion fogging up my brain, making me feel like a visitor to my own life.  I bemoaned my suffering, and then I immediately remembered that this is not suffering.

Suffering is fighting cancer for almost two years, enduring countless surgeries and radiation and chemotherapy and complications and restarting your life again and again.

Suffering is surviving a horrific plane crash that leaves you unrecognizable to your children and in tremendous pain.

This is just a bad cold.

So I’m done feeling sorry for myself (although I may still try to get Herbie to bring me apple juice and cough drops before he leaves for work).  Missing out on a few meals and tea parties is nothing, and today, with the help of good pal Tylenol, I jump back into the delightful, chaotic fray.

2 Responses to “Out From the Fog”

  1. Sonia Says:

    Aw huh, hope you feel better soon 😦

  2. Beth H. Says:

    go get ’em, Tiger! way to keep things in perspective (thanks for the reminder). hope you’re feeling better soon!


Leave a Reply

