An Education

March 29, 2010

Not only was Thursday Moo’s third birthday, it was also registration day at the preschool where we hoped to enroll Moo.  Herbie and I went back and forth on how early we should arrive in the morning.  I tried to eke out some clue from the school’s registrar, but all she would say is that she wouldn’t roll her eyes at me if I arrived two hours early.

So we arrived three hours early.  Herbie left first to get in line, giving Moo a few more minutes to sleep.  Then I would drop her off at my mom’s house and tag in for Herbie.  But at 7 a.m. while Herbie was ironing his shirt, I suddenly panicked – obviously three hours was not early enough!  He had to just wear a wrinkled shirt and GO GO GO!

He got there a little before 7:30 – three hours before our group, the “general public,” i.e.  the newbies, would be allowed to register.  He was soon herded inside and issued a number – third in line for the general public group!  That’s great!  Unfortunately, when I arrived to take Herbie’s spot, I realized that “third in line” was also “dead last.” 

Some parents got there at three in the morning!!  Of course, if we had done that, we would have only gained two spots in line, but I spent the next couple hours torturing myself over whether those two spots would make all the difference in Moo’s ENTIRE FUTURE.

I also spent the next couple hours making friends with the enemy – Miss #2 of the General Public group.  The more I talked to her, the more I desperately wanted to get Moo in this school, because if there were parents like her, I might make more Friends With Children! – a secondary goal along with the whole socialization/education aspect for Moo, of course.  But it wasn’t looking good for us.  After the first wave of returnees registered, a second wave showed up and they STILL got to go before us, and there were still two more groups to register after that.

Miss #2 and I wrung our hands and confessed that neither of us had a backup plan.  We wanted THIS school.  Heck, Moo already referred to it as her school, after borrowing their playground a few weekends in a row.

Finally, the registrar came over to size up our little group.  To the mom hoping for a pre-K class, she said, “I’m so sorry, all the classes are full.”  To the grandma hoping for a 2-year-old class, she said, “No problem.”  And to the two of us, she mumbled, “Ahshud bee claa gufar.”  And then walked away, saying, “We’ll call you in in just a minute!”

#2 and I looked at each other.  “What did she SAY?!”  But neither of us spoke registrar-babble.  Luckily, we didn’t have to wait long and they called us into the Room of Fate a couple minutes later.  As we trekked across the large holding pen, I told #2, “This is where I brain you from behind and steal your spot.”  She wasn’t sure whether to laugh or not.

But BEHOLD!  There were spots for each of us, hallelujah!  I signed over our life savings, second-born, and soul, and ta-da!  Moo is officially enrolled in our only-choice preschool.

I told Moo the good news, and she said, “Yay!  Do I get to go to school tomorrow?  Will I learn to swim?”

Oh, er, well, no.  Five months to go.  And I didn’t see a pool.  (That’s only in Scottsdale preschools.)  But I think they have paint!  To paint with!  And make pictures!

She shrugged and went back to wrapping necklaces around Hop.  Well.  She’ll see.  This preschool will change her life foreverrrrr.  I mean, I’m pretty sure I signed a contract that said so.

3 Responses to “An Education”

  1. Beth H. Says:

    yay! glad she got in! {and omg, the school registration thing is so insane!!! sounds extremely nerve-racking.}

  2. Leslie Says:

    YAY for MOO!
    Where in the WORLD is this preschool? Candyland? Wonkaworld? What makes it so desirable?

  3. Cat Says:

    I absolutely remember my pre-school. I loved it and I’m pretty sure I learned something – even if all I remember was the playing.


Leave a Reply

