Fruit Wars

January 26, 2010

This morning I totally lost it over a blackberry.

Not so long ago, in that beautiful pre-2 era, Moo ate – well, most things.  Pasta, meat, corn, broccoli, peas, eggs, and just about every kind of fruit.

Then veggies were off the menu.  Meat next, and then eggs.  We had a long period where we comforted ourselves with all the different fruits she ate, and then the fruits started going, too.  First grapes, then oranges, and then all fruits “with skin.”  Then blueberries, bananas, strawberries, and finally even those really good jarred peaches from Trader Joe’s.  We were down to blackberries.

Yesterday, blackberries were finally shown the door.

So now she eats virtually NOTHING THAT IS GOOD FOR HER, unless I sneak it in, or unless it’s baked into something sweet (blueberry scones, banana bread).  Through all of this, we have tried coercing, tricking, bribing, rewarding, silly-dancing, threatening, demanding, and begging.  Nothing worked.  Well, sometimes the silly dance worked, but come on.  Let us retain some level of dignity, kid.  She’s too smart for tricking (she’ll never notice the piece of broccoli hidden inside that noodle!), bribing and rewarding seem wrong, and demanding she eat JUST. ONE.  BITE. only ends in an endless, pointless stubbornness standoff.

Everything I read says we should let it go, it’s just a phase.  Keep offering her everything, keep encouraging her, and don’t make eating a battle.  So that’s what we’ve been doing, until this morning when I turned two years old.

Mama:  “Moo, don’t forget your blackberries.”

Moo (making a blackberry tower):  “No, Mommy.  I’m not going to eat them.  I’m playing with them.”

Mama:  “Moo, please don’t play with your food.  Berries are for eating.”

Moo:  “I am NOT going to eat them.”

Mama:  “Eating fruit is what keep you healthy and makes you grow bigger.”

Moo:  “I AM big.  I am NOT going to eat them.”

I take a big, long swig of orange juice and try to keep my mouth shut.  …But I cannot.

Mama:  “Eat your berries, Moo.”

Moo:  “No.”

Mama:  “Yes.”

Moo:  “No!”

Mama:  “Yes!”

Moo:  “NO!”

Mama:  “YEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

She didn’t eat them.

After her tears dried and my guilt wore off, I tried to convince myself, once again, that this is Just A Phase.  But I am terribly worried that I am inadvertantly raising a Picky Eater.  And a Picky Eater is a big ol’ Pain in the Ass.

So – anyone been through this?  Pretty please?  I would really, desperately, love some advice.

8 Responses to “Fruit Wars”

  1. Millie Says:

    Uncle Rolf? ate NOTHING but grapefruit for almost a month (which, in Ohio in the winter, were very expensive). I, too, threatened, begged and cryed. He remained steadfast in his opinions about what to eat. Phyll was overseas and I was sure that I would lose my mind.

  2. from the wings Says:

    Not to play devil’s advocate, but Rolf is now a picky eater!!

  3. kristi Says:

    My philosophy: They eat what we eat (or whatever I’ve given them). They don’t HAVE to eat it, but if they don’t, that’s all they get (I don’t make a big deal of it, they know the deal). No exceptions. A number of times I’ve put their leftovers in the fridge to reappear when they’re hungry. I have (KNOCK ON WOOD!!!!) 3 not at all picky eaters.

    • mamarose Says:

      Okay, well you’ve given me hope, because that’s what we’re doing. But did they go through a phase where they would pretty much eat nothing on their plates, thereby just going without food? And if so, how did you survive without losing your mind?

  4. Millie Says:

    Herbie, you are correct. But Rolf eats to live and has said so. I remember days when you, yourself, refused broccoli and other things. It takes time and patience and lots of love. Love you all – millie

  5. soniar07 Says:

    Yeah, agree with Kristi big time. Just don’t start makin’ her meals “just for her” that’s when it can go crazy. They’ll eat when they’re hungry. Kids figure out real quick to eat what there is ….or go get a job and pay for and prepare your own meals 😉

  6. pam b Says:

    it only took one of those “i am not eating that” out of benjamin. he found it in his lunchbox the next day. he knows the drill – mommy is NOT a short order chef. eat it, or dont, its not my problem. they absolutely will not starve themselves

    i was a big pill – i only wanted pb&j. i think my mom said i was about 2yo. she did that hauling out last meal at the current meal and i got over it quite quickly

  7. Cat Says:

    Just came across your blog and read this post. Reminded me of my recent situation.

    Check out how I’m trying to handle it — He does love broccoli

    G’luck!


Leave a Reply

