#5 – Sweet Charity, Tempe Little Theatre

January 20, 2010

*Exhale*  Hoooo, I really sucked it in last night!  (Herbie:  “How do you suck in your baby?”  Mama:  “I didn’t suck in the baby, I sucked in the fat that has appeared around the baby.”)

It poured down rain last night, putting my silk jacket/leather purse audition outfit in grave danger.  Also, I do NOT like driving in the rain at night.  Luckily I know the route to TLT by heart, so actual seeing wasn’t terribly necessary.  When I arrived, I waded downstairs, said hello to some familiar faces and signed in.  And then I quickly learned that word travels fast about a pregnant belly!  I had barely sat down when JB the Assistant Director approached me.

“I hear congratulations are in order!” he said.

“Oh – yes, thank you!”

“Now would this make it difficult for you or hinder you from being in the show?”

“Ohhh, nonononononono,” I assured him.

Soon after that, I learned we were going to dance first, so I changed into my character shoes, and that’s when Naked Girl appeared.

Okay, she wasn’t totally naked.  She was wearing tights, and little black boy shorts, and then there was a whooole lotta bare skin, and then a cropped wraparound sweater.  It was exactly what you’d wear to audition for “A Chorus Line” in New York.  But she was working it, and man, she had the body.  I instantly felt more pregnant as I watched her stretch her legs over her head.  I could see her check off “intimidate other girls” on her mental check list.

So I managed to stretch out my not-so-sore muscles (thanks, Herbie!), and then we started dancing.  Oh, how I adore Katy C.!  She’s so talented, and I hope she knows it.  She had us do a short combination to The Ting-Tings’ “That’s Not My Name” (which I got to see live last fall, so awesome and LOUD) instead of a song from the show, which I thought was quite shrewd.  The song has the same sort of rhythms of the 60’s music in the show, and yet it allowed us to just dance and have fun instead of trying to be Fosse clones right off the bat.  Then later, some of us (whew!) got to do a longer, more complicated dance to an acoustic version of Lady Gaga’s “Paparazzi.”  Right away, I thought, “Damn, I need to listen to more Lady Gaga.”  Then I tried to get as fierce as possible.  Whether I achieved fierceness, I don’t know, but it was a hell of a lot of fun trying.

In between all the dancing, we went in one by one to sing.  And as soon as I walked in the door, Director J barked, “What’s this about you being on bed rest?”  Uh, what?  Turns out Katy C. mentioned a comment that Herbie made on a previous post, and suddenly I’m an invalid.  Damn you, blog!!  I tried to set the record straight – I am NOT on bed rest, I am NOT due until the end of June, I am DEFINITELY able to dance my ass off.  Then I sang, and that was fine, I suppose.  Afterwards, Director J told me he wanted me to come back Thursday night for callbacks, when we’ll read from the script.  So, woo!!! 

But also, I don’t have a very great feeling about this.  The whole pregnant thing seems to have become an Issue.  And also, there were lots of lovely, talented, very thin girls (and one partially naked) who also got called back.

I’m still happy I auditioned, and definitely would have regretted it had I not.  If nothing else, it was great practice, and I got to dance.  We’ll see what happens Thursday.

7 Responses to “#5 – Sweet Charity, Tempe Little Theatre”

  1. Beth H. Says:

    Congrats, Mama! You got a call-back, so obviously you showed ’em that you’re a true talent, prego or not.
    : ) Break a leg at round 2!

  2. leslietjackson Says:

    I’m so proud of you MAMA!
    You are my hero

  3. Katy Says:

    Thank youuuu so much!! 😀 I’m so happy that you liked the dances!

    But hold on a minute, lady. I mentioned Herbie’s bed rest comment in passing to JFM as the most infinitesimal-est of infinitesimal, minuscule maybes. I had no idea he would actually blurt it out during your audition, but that’s our delightfully tactless JFM for ya. 😉 Your pregnancy is so NOT the huge issue you think it is.

    Also, anyone who knows me well can attest to the fact that I don’t give a shit about body types. I mean, hello, LOOK AT ME. I am one big curvy dancer girl. And I know that JFM doesn’t give a shit about superficial things like that, either, nor does he cast that way. I wasn’t looking at bodies, I was looking at attitude and dancing skills. And on Monday, there was actually a much wider spectrum of body types that auditioned; big, small, short and tall. All the super-tiny gals happened to all audition on Tuesday. But as I said before, I don’t pick people based on physique like the rest of the planet does…I can’t emphasize that enough.

    Sorry about the novel-length comment, I just think these things are very important and I don’t want you to be all gloom and doom about them. (And by the way, “infinitesimal” is pretty much the most difficult word to spell…I actually had to look it up!)

    • mamarose Says:

      Oh I don’t blame you for the bed-rest thing! That was classic J, pretty funny. And thanks for the comment – I don’t feel doom and gloom about my body image, it’s just hard to get used to when it happens so fast. 🙂 And I couldn’t help but wonder if J might consider regular-curvy taxi dancer a little different than pregnant-curvy taxi dancer. 🙂 See you tonight – right?

  4. Katy Says:

    Naked Girl discovered your blog today. 🙂

    • mamarose Says:

      Oh no! I hope she wasn’t offended. I did say she was workin’ it, after all. 🙂 How’s the show going? Hope to come see it this weekend.

      • Katy Says:

        I don’t think she was offended, more amused!
        The show is going pretty well. Things are finally coming together after a very stressful process with a deluge of problems that seemed more like cosmic jokes to me. But it’s going well. I’m so ready for an actual theater break that’s longer than a month between shows, though, because I’m exhausted and all out of ideas!


Leave a Reply

