Pas-de-Ouch

January 18, 2010

Today is Day 1 of The Overhaul, as we’ve come to call it, wherein Herbie and I both wake up earlier, thereby causing us to be doubly productive at work and/or home (at least, that’s the theory).  And look – hey!  I’m sitting at the computer writing, when I would normally just be getting in the shower!  We’re running about 20 minutes later than we planned, but all-in-all I’d say not a bad start.

After all, we had sort of a tough night.  Moo woke up around 4, calling for Herbie (“Daddy?  Daaaaaaady? whimper-whimper), as has become her habit about every other night.  Last night, she’d lost her snucky (a.k.a. pacifier).  Sometimes it’s her blanket on the floor, or her inability to find Hop right next to her, but mostly it’s about needing Daddy to come in, kiss her on the head, and rub her back for a few minutes.

I don’t blame her – Herbie’s backrubs are truly magical.  I couldn’t sleep either last night, but not because I couldn’t find my snucky – because I went to ballet class on Saturday.  I hadn’t been to a dance class since… September?  Is that RIGHT?  But I really didn’t think I was that out of shape – I mean, sure, baby in my tummy, ligaments stretching for expanding uterus, whaaaatever, I’ve danced all my life, I can handle it.

But it HURT.  I realized near the end, when I desperately had to fight the urge to crawl behind the piano and take a nap, that I needed to stop pushing my body so hard.  Too late!  By nighttime I could barely walk, and yesterday I shuffled around the house all day, grumbling about my sore muscles.  At 2 in the morning, I couldn’t sleep because my leg was throbbing.  Herbie threw his arm around me and I took that as an invitation to whine that I couldn’t sleep.  So Herbie, even though The Overhaul wake-up call was fast approaching, rubbed my back and leg and shoulders for about half an hour until I fell asleep.

Gosh I’m lucky.  Moo, too.

I don’t really know what else I should do with this Overhaul Day 1.   Got up earlier, check.  But now Moo is sleeping in as usual, so we’re not getting an earlier start on HER routine.  My goal is to be a better housewife and more productive writer (check!), so I guess I should…go wash a dish or something?

Or maybe just go back to bed.  After all, there’s always Day 2…

5 Responses to “Pas-de-Ouch”

  1. leslietjackson Says:

    a) I missed ballet 😦 boo. Need to find consistent Will care
    b) please tell me you will return?!
    c) habits take time to form – getting up earlier is step 1… work on your routine sans Moo then get her up earlier 🙂

    I’ve had to make many changes to my routine lately because I put Will in daycare and therefore have to get him to bed earlier, up earlier etc.. and it takes time and is hard but works!!!

    • mamarose Says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! I will definitely be back to ballet, I like the class and the pace is perfect for me right now. Got a birthday party this Sat. but I should be there the week after that. See you there?

  2. from the wings Says:

    Do NOT go back to bed!

  3. Katy Says:

    Ughh, a couple weeks ago I took three dance classes in a row (two of them ballet classes) after not dancing in a couple months. Worst. Idea. EVER. My body was in screaming pain during class and even more so after class. SO FRUSTRATING.

    • mamarose Says:

      Three in a row! And I was destroyed by just one, jeesh. You know what is also VERY FRUSTRATING? There is one drug I am allowed to take to ease my muscle pain, or any pain at all for that matter, and apparently ALL OF IT IN THE WHOLE ENTIRE WORLD has been recalled. Very annoying!


Leave a Reply

