Mighty-O

January 14, 2010

We’re back home from a trip to Seattle, which I had to keep secret because we were surprising my brother-in-law for his 40th birthday.  (Happy Birthday, Dan!)  I’m pretty sure he doesn’t read my blog, but then again you never know who’s lurking quietly out there.  While we were there we saw our good friends Dave and Melanie, who gave me a big hug upon greeting me and said, “Congratulations!”

“On what?” I asked.

“You’re pregnant!” she said.

“Did we tell you that already??  How did you know?”  I checked my stomach.  I didn’t think I was showing yet…

“Well, you announced it publicly on your blog,” Melanie reminded me.

Oh!  Right!

So our trip to Seattle swept by in a flurry of rain storms, family, friends, and DONUTS.

The best donuts I’ve ever tasted, actually.  Mighty-O Donuts – vegan, organic donuts, which I don’t actually care about so much, except that the vegan and organic part somehow culminates in the most delicious donuts in the world.  Donuts so fluffy and delicious, melt-in-your-mouth donuts that don’t sit in your tummy like a rock, I suppose because they’re as healthy as donuts can be.

Mighty-O is in a tiny nook of a neighborhood called Tangletown.  And Tangletown just happens to be where Herbie and I first lived together and fell in love in a tiny apartment just across the street from Mighty-O.  Weekend mornings, Herbie would let me sleep in and head over to Mighty-O, bringing me back french toast and lemon poppyseed donuts (my favorites).  There is nothing like waking up to your man kissing you on the head whilst clutching a bag of warm, freshly glazed donuts.  Nothing.

We’ve turned Moo into a fan as well.  She owns a collection of Mighty-O t-shirts and proudly sports the free Mighty-O stickers on her tummy whenever given the chance.  Moo’s favorite is chocolate raspberry-frosted.  Also known as The Pink One.

LOOK AT THAT DONUT.  Oh, Mighty-O…miss you already.

8 Responses to “Mighty-O”

  1. Katy Says:

    What is it with Seattle and ridiculously good vegan sweets?? One of the best cookies I’ve ever had was a vegan oatmeal cookie from a vegetarian/vegan stand at Pike Place Market!

  2. Shelly Says:

    OMG, I want a donut so badly right now I could cry.

  3. Emily Blagg Says:

    Living in a little apartment in Tangletown right across the street from a donut shoppe and coffee…that sounds so lovely.
    So, are you showing yet? I was wondering if I would be able to see a little baby pooch next weekend when we’re in town. Glad to hear you guys had a nice trip to Seattle. See you soon!

    • mamarose Says:

      I have a little tummy, growing everyday. But I like to tell myself that I’m not showing yet – at least no strangers have asked me if I’m pregnant thus far…

  4. Beth H. Says:

    sounds like y’all had a great trip! : )

  5. kristi Says:

    That’s just mean. MEAN.


Leave a Reply

