Tradi-shuuuuuun! (A Holiday Meme)

December 22, 2009

I saw this on Swistle, who saw it on another blog, who found it on another blog, and thought it looked fun.  P.S.  I don’t really know what “meme” means, but that’s what everybody else called it, so…

Eggnog or hot chocolate?  I don’t think I’ve ever had eggnog in my life, which is weird, because I think my mom loves it.  Oh wait – I think I had it once after I had my wisdom teeth out (thanks, Mom!).  Definitely a hot chocolate woman, more so lately since any sort of alcoholic holiday beverage has been denied me.

Does Santa wrap the presents or leave them open under the tree?  Santa wraps the presents in the stockings, and then he leaves one bigger present next to/underneath the stocking, not wrapped, ready-for-play.  Apparently, Santa does not always behave in this manner at all houses – but the idea of Santa’s presents, wrapped and mixed in with all the family presents, makes me start to twitch a little.  IT CANNOT BE!

Colored lights on a tree or white?  Colored!  And of course, bubble lights, a tradition stretching back a few generations on my side of the family.

Do you hang mistletoe?  Only if my Boy Scout nephew sells me some before Christmas.

When do you put your decorations up?  Whenever I can convince Herbie to drag the boxes down from the attic!  That was not hard at all this year – he had the boxes down two days after Thanksgiving, and he had the lights up outside two days before Thanksgiving!

What is your favorite holiday dish?  PECAN CUPS.  Little mini-muffin-sized morsels of goodness.  Tiny cream-cheese crust, filled with a crunchy-on-t0p, gooey-in-the-middle mixture of chopped pecans and brown sugar (and other stuff I forget).  Going to get the ingredients tomorrow.

Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?  Children get to open one gift of their choosing on Christmas Eve.  I remember the year I desperately wanted a Lite-Brite.  I spent many, many hours trying to figure out which present was the most Lite-Brite-shaped, and when it came time to pick my present Christmas Eve…I chose wisely.  But then I was kind of disappointed when Christmas morning came, and I’d already opened my favorite present.  So for now, we choose for Moo.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree?  Bubble lights, fairy lights, and then a beautiful hodge-podge of ornaments from past and present.  Herbie and I both have ornaments from our childhoods, and now we have new ones celebrating our life together, too.  I love the idea of the Christmas tree as a celebration of family and memories.

Snow:  love it or hate it?  I love it, but probably only because I don’t live with it.  I loved that one time it snowed so much in Seattle, and Herbie and I ran to the park and slid down the tube slide, and I pushed a huge pile of snow right onto his face as he slid through.  And when I lived with it in New York, I loved that first day of snow and how it made the city look like a fairyland – and hated the second day of snow, when it turned yellow and black and seeped into the cracks of my cheap boots.

Can you ice skate?  I CAN!  I can ice skate really, really fast!  I just can’t stop.

What is your favorite holiday dessert?  Well, since I already said PECAN CUPS, now I’ll mention bourbon balls, delicious little balls of bourbon and oh who cares what else?  I love them so much that on my last ob-gyn visit, I only had two questions – one, can I take echinacea? (no), and two, can I have bourbon balls at Christmas?  I love my doctor for saying yes to that one.

What is your favorite holiday tradition?  I cannot possibly pick just one!  Going to the electric light parade.  Digging through the Christmas boxes.  Putting up the “little fuzzed-up animals” on the felt Advent tree my aunt made when I was a little girl.  Seeing how proud and excited Herbie gets over the Christmas lights.   Watching Christmas movies.  Driving around on Christmas Eve, looking at Christmas lights and enjoying all the luminarias lined up on the streets.  Putting out cookies and carrots on Christmas Eve.  Taking turns opening presents Christmas morning.  Christmas Day nap.  And just sitting on the couch, staring at the tree, sinking into that hazy Christmas bliss.

Candy canes:  yum or yuck?  Yuck?!  YUCK?!  Um, yum.  I love them so much my whole dining room table is decorated in an Homage to the Candy Cane theme.

Favorite Christmas show?  As a child, Rudolph hands-down.  Now, I’d have to say Elf, because that one became a tradition for Herbie and I right after we got married.  Remember everyone, if you see gum on the street, leave it there.  It isn’t free candy.

I’d love to hear your answers to some of these!

5 Responses to “Tradi-shuuuuuun! (A Holiday Meme)”

  1. mamarose Says:

    Not that I need to tell you, because of course it is really SO obvious, but that blue guy is Herbie’s 5-year-old interpretation of Cookie Monster.

  2. mamarose Says:

    Oh! And I cannot believe I forgot one of THE traditions that makes Christmas Christmas for me – singing Silent Night and Joy to the World at Christmas Eve service.

  3. from the wings Says:

    I really enjoy lighting the candles and then when the turn off all the lights.

  4. Christa Says:

    Oh my gosh!!! I have that same ornament from Crossroads during our preschool day…except of course…mine has my picture on it 🙂 WOW! I finally post a comment 🙂


Leave a Reply

