Tummy Talk

December 11, 2009

Thanks for all the wonderful well-wishes and for welcoming me back.  I feel all warm and fuzzy.

For those of you wondering, yes we have told Moo she’s going to be a big sister.  I don’t know if that’s a wise decision or not – it wasn’t even a decision, there’s just no way I could keep it to myself.  I may have witheld the news a little longer than I did, except that she was getting worried about me when I felt so sick, and I wanted her to know that my tummy felt icky not because I was ill, but because I’m growing a baby in my tummy.  I’m sure that made total sense to her.

A few days ago we broke the news that it turns out she’s going to have a baby brother (unless, as Kristi pointed out to me, the doctor was wrong wrong wrong! and that pointy thing isn’t so pointy at the next ultrasound).  Moo was mid-bite of pizza when we told her, and she just sat there with her chipmunk cheeks, frozen, for a whole minute before replying, “A brother?  I think I said a sister.”

We explained that God and our chromosomes had decided differently, and wouldn’t it be fun to teach him all about dinosaurs?

This morning she said, “Mommy, maybe when the baby comes out of your tummy, we could have a playdate.”

Mama:  “That sounds wonderful, Moo, but he won’t come out of my tummy for a long time still.  He won’t come out until after your birthday!”

Moo:  “After my birthday?!”  (thinks) “…Mommy, maybe could I invite my baby brother to my birthday party?”

Awww.  Sure thing, Moo my love.

This morning we head out to Redondo Beach to visit my sister and her family, and see my niece Clara be a mouse in The Nutcracker.  A cute mouse, of course – not a scary mouse.  Then on Monday – Disneyland!  I keep checking weather reports, and of course it says partly sunny – wonderful! – and yet I still have a pile of five coats for Moo that I cannot POSSIBLY narrow down.

I had a dream last night that we got to Disneyland, realized we forgot our tickets and somehow only had $75 left to our names, got inside anyway somehow, and found Disneyland to be a flat, cold, concrete wasteland.  It did have some rides – and there weren’t any lines! – but Moo didn’t want to ride on any of them.  Then we finally convinced her to go on the Finding Nemo submarine ride, but people kept stealing our seats so we couldn’t sit together, and then we just looked out the window at a block wall for about five minutes until the last 30 seconds of the ride, when a little cardboard Nemo finally made an appearance.  Then I lost Herbie, finally finding him in the bathroom, throwing up and sick with the flu.

I mean, it’s not going to be THAT bad, right?  Anybody got Disney advice, lemme know!

Wish us luck!

2 Responses to “Tummy Talk”

  1. Beth H. Says:

    haaaaaaa! that dream you had was hilarious! i’m sure your real trip will be a lot more fun than that. : )

  2. kristi Says:

    “I think I said a sister” – HA! Cuteness. I’m sure HE’s a HE. Probably. Maybe. Possibly. 😉


Leave a Reply

