The Secret to a Happy Marriage…

September 21, 2009

…is marrying Herbie.

Yesterday, after I opened the pantry and got beaned by an avalanche of spices and cupcake sprinkles, I had a radical idea.  I went and found Herbie playing “Pinkie Pie and Toola Roola Have a Tea Party” with Moo.  (Have I mentioned he’s also a gread dad?) 

“I have a radical idea,” I said.  He followed me into the kitchen, where I opened a cupboard and pointed at a shelf with one single bib sitting on it.  “What if we put all of Moo’s plates and cups somewhere else, moved the cheese graters up a shelf, find a place for all these ramekins, move the spices and the cupcake stuff in here, and then spread out all the smushed oils and vinegars and cans and stuff in the pantry?”

Herbie’s mouth fell open.  “You’re a genius!”  Why, thanks!

“I’ll do it.”

Huh?  Well, I wasn’t expecting that, I swear, but I’m no dummy.  Herbie spent the rest of Saturday and a good part of Sunday reorganizing all our kitchen cupboards and the pantry, and then even lined and reorganized the junk drawer for good measure.

I took a nap.

We forgot to take “before” pictures, but here are the glorious “after” pictures:

Cupboards 001

Cupboards 011

Cupboards 008

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, I didn’t just nap.  I also vacuumed, did laundry, washed the dishes,picked up the playroom, and started to make a reward chart (Candyland theme!).  Just didn’t want you to think I was a mean, lazy wife.

2 Responses to “The Secret to a Happy Marriage…”

  1. Beth H. Says:

    ahhh, organization. looks great!


Leave a Reply

