The Dunk

September 16, 2009

Herbie’s bike broke AGAIN – like a beloved ol’ granddad, the bike requires many trips to the doctor – so Moo and I had to take Herbie to work yesterday.  Faced with dragging ourselves out the door before 8 a.m. (how does he DO it?), I looked for a silver lining.  And that’s when I remembered Herbie mentioning a Dunkin Donuts near his office.

Sounds like the perfect time for Moo’s first trip to The Dunk, as I like to call it, starting right now.

When I was a little girl, sometimes my mom would strap me onto the back of her bicycle, and we’d ride a few blocks down 7th street, through the church parking lot, ending at Dunkin Donuts.  I have many happy memories of peering through the window at the chef(?) making the donuts, and even more happy memories of chocolate-frosted doughnuts with sprinkles.  My mom always got maple-frosted.

Nowadays, Dunkin Donuts looks a little different, and I have no way of telling whether they make the doughnuts on site (I’m guessing…no?), and it’s all very PURPLE! and ORANGE!, but after hearing Herbie and Swistle praise their coffee, I was curious to visit again.

Moo was very excited by the giant D’s for door handles, and also all the PURPLE! and ORANGE!  I was not prepared for such an extensive menu, and disappointed by the small doughnut display – I remembered doughnuts covering one whole wall.  There was no one in line, and Moo made her decision quickly – “Pink!!” – so I didn’t have time to carefully study the menu, and I hate standing there squinting while teenage clerks stare at me, so I blurted out, “One pink, and one chocolate with sprinkles.  And one maple-frosted.”

And I don’t know if it’s just something about being a mom, but maple-frosted is now my new favorite.  And their coffee really is good!

donut

Like any proper 2-year-old, Moo ate off all the pink frosting, and then all the chocolate sprinkle frosting, and then every stray sprinkle in sight, and grinned at me happily.

If they sold bananas, or you know, anything remotely healthy, I’d be hooked.

5 Responses to “The Dunk”

  1. Beth H. Says:

    “The Dunk’s” iced coffee is really good – i enjoyed that on my trip to Boston (DD iced coffee is HUGE there).

  2. mamarose Says:

    I got an iced caramel swirl latte – it was good, but it was just the first thing I saw on the menu so I blurted it out. Just regular iced coffee, huh? I’ll give it a try.

  3. kristi Says:

    I’m on a major doughnut dependency as of late. Some may a pox upon me, but I do believe I love DD more than KK. !!

  4. Beth H. Says:

    yes, just the regular old iced coffee, but I take mine with lots of cream & sugar. mmmmmmmmm.

  5. pam b Says:

    oh man i want a donut. i have wanted one for awhile too

    anyways.. i also remember TONS of donuts on display at dunkin donuts. we dont have them here in san diego, so i have not had the pleasure of taking my kids

    and apparently GMTA because when i have to do something at an impossible hour (although now i am used to the needing to be out the door at 7.40 dead latest routine) i like to find some sort of treat as well!


Leave a Reply

