Dress Success!

September 10, 2009

Monday, I coerced Rosalind into driving me to Nordstrom Rack for one last stab at Zoni-dress-shopping there.  I looked once before, but didn’t have the nerve to browse the “Designer Shop.”  If I’d gone in there alone, I would have made a big show out of carefully studying the thousand-dollar dresses, as if I was a very wealthy woman who just wears Old Navy t-shirts as a lark sometimes.  But with Emily there, we would hold up dresses and say, “Look!  It’s marked down to only $1,200, hahahahaha yeah right!”  And I even found a dress to try on, but it made me look like a fancy gladiator.

So I thought I might have to resign myself to my plum-but-not-perfect dress, because my mom-slash-Moo-watcher is going out of town, and then we’re going camping, so I really only had one more day to shop, and that was yesterday.

I promised myself I wouldn’t go out shopping until I cleaned the house, so I scrubbed and hoovered (sometimes I like to pretend I’m English) and finally headed out for my last-chance shopping with only an hour and a half before I had to pick up Moo.

First I hit Buffalo Exchange, which I’d forgotten existed since I decided I was too old to shop there last year.  But perhaps an Anne Hathaway-type young lady had consigned a lovely beaded frock?  No. 

Then I went to Mint Vintage, inside the totally cool Red Modern Furniture.  I’d heard it carried some of the nicest vintage clothes in Phoenix, and I hoped maybe it had a 50’s-style cocktail dress like the one I bought in Seattle years ago, which would have been perfect for the Zoni’s except Herbie spilled a pomegranate martini on me at the Office Christmas Party of 2004.  But Mint had only one rack of clothes, and while the pieces were unique and in great condition, the closest thing they had to my dream dress was an 80’s velvet dress with a big pink butt bow.  And I just don’t think I could pull off “ironic” at an awards show.

From there I almost went to Dillard’s, but at the last second I turned into the Rowdy Boutique, right across from my old high school.  My hair stylist Lila recommended it, and she’s a stylish lady, so I decided to give it a try.  Little boutiques make me nervous – they’re often too expensive for me, and they’re usually near-empty and I feel attacked by salespeople.  Sure enough, I was the only one in the store, and I glanced around warily.  Cute clothes, but nothing fancy.  The saleslady pounced on me – but it was a friendly sort of pounce.  And then she pointed  to the sale rack, where, among the jeans and t-shirts, there hung one single Max and Cleo blue dress, in my size, for 40% off.  And here’s the kicker – you know how some designers like to give their products names, like, the Stella purse?

This dress is named after ME.  The Mama Rose dress.  …Except, you know, my real name.  And the exact same way I spell it, which is not exactly the most common way.

It was a SIGN.  And, heavens to betsy, it looked great on me, too!  Here’s a picture I found, but bear in mind that this girl is like a size negative-6, and also I think the material looks… nicer in person, and also I’m wearing it with the optional spaghetti straps:

The Dress

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the one.  (Also, it’s not returnable.)  But I feel classy and sexy and very Reese Witherspoon-circa-2007 (when she was proving to her stupid ex that the best revenge is a yellow cocktail dress).

Now for accessories and shoes!

katespade

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mmmmmmmm…

peacocks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Weeeeeeeeeeee!

Dior

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

GASP.   *thud*

11 Responses to “Dress Success!”

  1. Leslie Says:

    You will look stunning!!
    Where did the shoes come from?

    Will you be making an appearance at dance one of these days?

    The Jazz class is still so so. This week we got a 10 minute lecture on knowing “when to take a shit” – literally… exactly what it sounds like “when to take a shit” so that you’re not holding it all in there while trying to turn… I’m dead serious.

    BUT we did learn the Thriller dance, which you alread know – but made me think of you.

    The Lyrical class – AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME.

    • mamarose Says:

      Wow, that jazz class sounds completely terrible. How disappointing. Okay, okaaaay I’ll try the lyrical. Lyrical usually isn’t my thing, too fluttery-floaty for me, but I’ll give it a shot. I need to get off my butt and start dancing again!

      • Katy Says:

        Are you talking about Sway? I’ve been wanting to try out that place but just haven’t had time. Does Liz Quinal still teach lyrical? She was in my dance kinesiology class last semester! Small world. I don’t really know her very well beyond her views on tensegrity and femoral anteversion, but she seems really sweet.

  2. Beth H. Says:

    OMG! I love that blue dress. so perfect – and you will look great in it! YAY!!!! Love those top shoes, too.

  3. Emily Blagg Says:

    Yay for Lila turning you onto that boutique! You’re right, it’s totally meant to be. It’s perfect! Can’t wait to see pictures from the Zoni’s.

  4. mamarose Says:

    Just to be clear, those shoes are Kate Spade and Dior and cost like two kabillion dollars. Even if I could afford that, I don’t think I could bring myself to spend that much money on a pair of shoes. But GOSH they’re pretty!

  5. Rosalind Says:

    It did make you look like a fancy gladiator, that’s funny.

  6. Katy Says:

    Are those…peacock earrings?! Dear GOD! They’re amazing! I want them. And those shoes are glorious as well, even if they are high fashion expensive. Congratulations on finding a dress! I can’t wait to check out that boutique AND hear all about the Zonis!


  7. I have to express appreciation to

    this writer just for rescuing me from such a

    trouble. Because of surfing around throughout the world wide web and
    obtaining

    tricks which were not productive, I believed my life
    was

    gone. Existing without the

    approaches to the difficulties you have sorted out by way of your short article is a crucial case, as well as ones that
    would have adversely

    damaged my entire career if I had not discovered your website.
    Your personal capability and kindness in

    dealing with the whole lot was invaluable. I’m not sure what I

    would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a thing like this.

    It’s possible to now relish my future. Thanks so

    much for this high quality and

    amazing help. I won’t be reluctant to endorse your web sites to anybody who should
    receive guidelines

    on this problem.

  8. Stacey Says:

    Would you be all in favour

    of exchanging links?


  9. I believe that is among the so much vital

    information for me. And i am satisfied studying your article.
    However want

    to observation on few normal issues, The

    website style is ideal, the articles is in reality excellent : D.
    Just right activity, cheers


Leave a Reply

