Zoni-Who? Zoni-Wha?

August 6, 2009

So there we were, driving down twisty roads Tuesday, back toward civilization after a lovely vacation at our no-cell-service cabin.  Of course, I checked my email on my phone as soon as I got a signal, as any good wired-in blogger/Facebook addict would do.  And there were all these messages saying congratulations, and sometimes even, “CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!”

My heart danced a little boogie.  I knew that the Zoni Award* nominations were announced Monday night, and I knew that I was submitted for consideration, but every time the thought, “maaaaybe…” began to creep in my head, I stomped it out and focused on choosing a potty seat instead.  But finally, there was the email from Desert Foothills Theatre’s producer, announcing the news that not only had I received a Best Actress in a Musical nomination for “The World Goes Round,” but the entire cast had also been nominated, and the director and sound designer as well!  So now I don’t have to stomp out secret hopes anymore, and can shout out loud (virtually):

Woo-hoo!

I can barely get my mind around it.  How did I go from here to a Zoni nomination in one year?  How is that possible?

I’ve been playing it pretty cool around all my family and friends since I found out, like, “Yeah, did I mention?  It’s pretty cool, I got nominated for this Zoni Award thing… yeah yeah, I’m pretty excited about it…yawwwn.”  Maybe I feel that at 35, I should really be mature about this whole thing, but what I really want to do is be Moo for just a few minutes.  I would run willy-nilly around the house, windmilling my arms, quacking like a duck, kicking, somersaulting off the furniture, and shouting at the top of my lungs.

Ahh, what the hell – nobody’s home but me and Moo.  You won’t tell, will you Moo?

WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

 

*The Zoni Awards are like Arizona’s version of the Tony Awards, giving out annual best-in-show awards to professional and community theaters in the Valley.

7 Responses to “Zoni-Who? Zoni-Wha?”

  1. soniar07 Says:

    And don’t forget some good ole fashioned jumping on the bed too! Congrats again! But inquiring minds want to know…whatcha gonna wear for the big shindig? How about that lil All That Jazz outfit?

  2. kristi Says:

    It’s ALMOST improving my mood to imagine you acting Moo-like. 🙂

    Congrats, You Actress You!

  3. Emily Blagg Says:

    That’s great! I’m so happy for you. I wish I could have seen that show, sad I missed it. Looking forward to seeing your blog entry after you attend the awards ceremony. Good Luck!!!

  4. Beth H. Says:

    AWEsome! Congrats! that is really cool – can’t wait to hear more about this. Enjoy it!

  5. Katy Says:

    Even though it’s a big DUH that your amazing self was nominated, I still squealed quite loudly when I saw your name on the nominees! Weee! 😀 And I agree with Sonia. Your “All That Jazz” outfit is a must-wear for the ceremony!

  6. Kara Says:

    Congrats! the high school prophecy has come true 🙂

  7. pam b Says:

    big congrats! you deserve it!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

