Preferably Iceberg

June 23, 2009

I just bought the book “The Chocolate Touch” for my nephew (shh, don’t tell), which is about a boy named John Midas who eats a magical chocolate and suddenly, everything he puts in his mouth turns into chocolate.  I loved that book when I was a kid, and just like when I was 9, it still makes me desperately crave a nice crisp salad.

Some of my other favorite childhood books included Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, Ramona the Brave, James and the Giant Peach, Where the Red Fern Grows, and the Incredible Journey.  How about you?  During the summer, I always came home from the library with a giant stack of books, which my mom neatly stacked on a shelf in the family room.  But within the hour, there was a trail of them all over the house, a trail that usually led to the bathroom.  I learned very young that nobody could tell me to stop reading and clean my room if I read on the toilet.  If someone banged on the door, all I had to do was yell, “I’M GOING TO THE BATHROOM!” and even though perhaps they were suspicious, nobody in my family was brave enough to come in and check.

So it was on the potty, with numb thighs, that I rolled my eyes at Ramona, giggled at Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, and wept when Billy’s dogs sacrificed themselves.  It’s still my favorite places to read, even though I know it irks Herbie (who won’t touch a magazine if he suspects it’s been in the bathroom).  And now as I watch Moo reading on the couch, surrounded by a huge stack of books from the library, I imagine it’s only a matter of time before I knock on the door to the bathroom and hear, “I’M GOING TO THE BATHROOM!”  But I’ll know, ohhh I’ll know, that really she’s reading “The Chocolate Touch.”  That’s okay.  Eventually she’ll emerge, craving a nice crisp salad.

6 Responses to “Preferably Iceberg”

  1. Beth H. Says:

    funny! i used to think reading in the bathroom was icky just like Herbie. but i have embraced it as of late, because the bathroom is such a peaceful, computer-free, distraction-free sanctuary!

  2. Wordslinger for Hire Says:

    I never knew that Herbie had such a problem with bathroom reading… I wonder where he thinks I did my reading?

  3. from the wings Says:

    I have business to take care of. I get in, get out. Done. Plus, isn’t it much nicer to read in a comfy chair or in bed?

  4. Wordslinger for Hire Says:

    Sometimes you just can’t put a book down… for any reason.

    And Rose is right… it becomes a sanctuary.

  5. pam b Says:

    sometimes you have to read in the bathroom to escape your kids! sometimes its the only way i can get a minute to myself

  6. Rosalind Says:

    Well, you know my opinion.


Leave a Reply

