So Now What, Part 2

May 1, 2009

So as previously mentioned, my Quest is officially over and I am going to happily wait out the next few months while I see what cards life deals us and hopefully get up on stage again in the not-too-distant future.

But if the quest is over, what about my blog?  I started the blog to document my auditions and experiences, and to hold myself accountable.  Now that I’m done auditioning at least for the summer, I’m not sure if I should continue my blog. 

On one hand, it’s kind of a burden, the pressure to post something new constantly at war with my desire to nap or flop on the couch with Herbie.  But on the other hand, I like telling stories, I like connecting with like-minded folks (hello, like-minded folks), and I like all the writing practice.  Also I enjoy bragging about my daughter (thanks for putting up with that, by the way).

So I am going to keep blogging, although I’m officially giving up blogging on the weekends.  I’ll still include stories about Moo and Herbie, because I just can’t help myself, but I’m also going to try something a little different, just for fun.  I’m currently finishing up Anthony Bourdain’s “Kitchen Confidential,” which has me reminiscing about my waitressing days.  (The drug deals in the walk-in, the makeout sessions under the patio bar, the dirty jokes, the fistfights…ahhh.  Good times.)  So next week will be “Restaurant Week” on Mama Rose, where I’ll tell my five favorite waitressing stories (Will my Shaq story make the cut?).  Maybe you guys will have some restaurant stories to share, as well!

After that, I’m going to try and continue the theme idea, interspersed with the Fabulous Adventures of Moo & Friends, of course.  If you hate the idea, let me know, although you should be aware that I will probably weep endlessly and start drinking myself to sleep every night with my new favorite cocktail, the Boom-Boom.  (Created by Herbie:  two parts rum, one part Naked Mighty Mango juice, add a tiny straw and spear a piece of orange and a maraschino cherry.  Boom.  Boom.)

7 Responses to “So Now What, Part 2”

  1. pam b Says:

    i am glad you are continuing your blog. truth be told – i dont subscribe to blogs! your blog is the first (and only) blog i subscribe to! so please keep ’em coming. i love all your stories – i love your writing style 🙂

    pam

  2. kristi Says:

    You would have had to have been publicly flogged had you disappeared from blogland. Just sayin’.

  3. Leslie Says:

    YOU MAY NOT STOP BLOGGING.
    just so you know, that would have NEVER been acceptable.

    Ballet class is still an option… working on schedule.

  4. Beth H. Says:

    yes, do keep blogging! i love your stories.

  5. Anita Says:

    PLEASE DO NOT STOP WRITING!!!!!!!You make me laugh everyday. Thank you for that!

  6. from the wings Says:

    I sixth that sentiment. Keep writing.

  7. KATE Says:

    Please,please keep blogging! I love it and you’re my daily connection to the Phoenix theatre crowd now.


Leave a Reply

