Apparently, People are Quite Sleepy on Saturdays

April 1, 2009

Bad news for The World Goes ‘Rounders – our Saturday matinee show was canceled, due to poor ticket sales.  Sigh.

I got a call this morning from Candy, the nicest box office woman in the world, telling me that she needed to move my entire family (because of course that’s the show they were planning on attending) to the Sunday matinee. 

“I hope you’re not hearing about the cancellation from me for the first time,” she said.

Uh, yes.  I am.

So I guess people are holding onto their wallets tightly these days, and we shouldn’t take it personally.  Certainly it’s not a reflection on the show, since a) The show is great! and b) There haven’t even been any reviews, let alone poor reviews to drive people away!  But it’s definitely a blow to my musical theatre soul to work so hard on something only to see an entire show get flushed down the toilet.

All that work for only six shows!

6 Responses to “Apparently, People are Quite Sleepy on Saturdays”

  1. Katy Says:

    Damn it to hell! That was when I was planning on going! Is there still a Saturday night show?

  2. kristi Says:

    Stinky. I’m one of the holding on tightly to my (completely empty) wallet people. STINKIN’ MONEY (mostly STINKIN’ LACK THEREOF!!!). I am SO there in spirit!!

  3. Aaron Says:

    Oh, man that sucks. We just got tickets for Saturday night. We will see you then!

  4. Beth H. Says:

    don’t take it personally, Kit Kat! it’s *definitely* the craptastic economy.

  5. Leslie Says:

    Sunday it is then…


Leave a Reply

