Two Rehearsals To Go

March 24, 2009

Last Night’s Lessons:

1.  Last night was our first night with lights, and it hit me for the first time what a dramatic switch this is from “Kiss Me Kate,” for me personally.  In Kiss Me Kate, I was in the background, happily doing my thing and happily watching others in the spotlight.  This time, the spotlight is literally on me.  At first, it freaked me out a little, but then – ohhhhhh I basked.

2.  Wireless mics = I don’t have to sing loudly!  I’m so used to trying to belt as loudly as I can, I don’t know if I’ll be able to adjust for the mics.  Luckily, Genius Sound Man Tom will adjust me accordingly.  Still haven’t been brave enough to go to the bathroom while wearing the mic pack yet…

3.  It is impossible for me to have any kind of expression on my face whatsoever during the two harmony monsters, “Cabaret” and “There Goes the Ballgame.”

4.  Also, I don’t know what the heck kind of expression to have on my face while holding this pink ukelele during “Me and My Baby.”  (Get it?  It’s not a baby, it’s a ukelele!  Get it?  Get it?  Me neither.)  So do I go with daffy amusement?  Utter befuddlement?  Paranoid psychosis?  Do I really believe this is a baby I’m holding, or am I just being ironic?

5.  I am really blind and very likely to fall over repeatedly in the dark wings of the stage. Why do I not wear contacts?!  Oh yes, because they are stupid and annoying and I hate them.

6.  Don’t hold that note too long!

7.  Don’t slow down during that verse!

8.  Do NOT start on the left foot!

9.  Wait for everyone else before you stride on stage and start singing!

10.  ALWAYS BRING ADVIL.

3 Responses to “Two Rehearsals To Go”

  1. Beth H. Says:

    you aren’t wearing contacts?!! you are crazy, woman! roller-skating half-blind? you really sacrifice a lot for your art. wish i could see the show!
    : )

  2. Wordslinger for Hire Says:

    Ummm… I’m gonna have to agree with Beth. As I love you and your family very much, I must at least voice a request that you consider getting contacts for the show.

    Although this request will probably fall on blurry eyes and be rendered futile.

    I am looking forward to the show… Don’t know when I’m coming, but I will be there at some point.


  3. […] I forgot the Advil.  Not a good […]


Leave a Reply

