But Not Blast-Ended Skrewts

March 12, 2009

Ever since Moo learned that her stuffed animal “snake” is really a caterpillar, she’s been asking lots of questions.  What do caterpillars eat?  Where do they live?  They turn into whaaaa?

She just about had the whole caterpillar-into-butterfly concept down when she thought of one more question:

“Mommy, who made caterpillars?”

“Uhhhhh,” I stammered, nearly choking a meatball while Herbie stuffed three more into his mouth.  “….God?”  I finished feebly, looking at Herbie, who nodded.  I was NOT prepared for a God talk before Moo even hits two!

Moo furrowed her brow.  “He DID?  God made caterpillars?”

Herbie and I nodded fervently.  “Yup!  He sure did!”

Pleasedon’taskanythingelsepleasedon’taskanythingelse…

“What ELSE God make?” asked Moo.

Shoot.

It’s not that she’s never heard about God before.  We go to church, although not every Sunday, we say grace before dinner, although sometimes we forget, and she loves her Noah’s Ark book.  But I was not prepared for a talk about What We Believe.

“What ELSE GOD MAKE??” Moo demanded.

Herbie and I started listing:  “Well, he (or He, I suppose) made dogs, cats, he made Doc, he made hummingbirds and flowers and trees-”

“Trees?!  Ha ha ha ha ha!”

Not sure why that’s so crazy, but anyway…

“He made you (‘We helped,’ added Herbie), he made peacocks and lizards, snakes, ladybugs, he made the sky blue, and he made rainbows, uhhh although I mean the sun and rain help with that, too…”

“What ELSE God make?”

Herbie jumped in.  “God made floofers, and yellow-bellied piggle wiggles, and red-tailed spleesplorks, and blast-ended skrewts…”

Moo cracked up on cue.  “Daddy!  God did NOT make blaff-edded skooots!”

Well, she’s right on that one – I suppose J.K. Rowling gets sole credit for the skrewts (awesomest fictional creatures ever!).

I hoped the conversation was over, but Moo wasn’t done.  “God make ALL those things, Mommy?”

I nodded.  “God has so much love in his heart that he made all those beautiful things for us so that we could love them, too.”

And that seemed to satifsy her curiousity about God.  But I had to bite my lip to keep myself from adding, “…but there are a lot of people that don’t believe in God or believe in a different kind of God and that’s okay, too, and you may decide you believe in something different than we do, which is perfectly fine because it took both of us a long time to come to the beliefs we have, and there are a lot of other perfectly valid and fascinating religions out there, and oh by the way yes God made all those things but science and evolution also had a big hand in creation, which no doesn’t mean God didn’t ALSO create all those things, but that science and evolution and God all worked hand-in-hand to make our world so beautiful…at least that’s what WE believe, but, you know, you may have a different kind of faith, but please try to be really tolerant and open to ALL faiths, okay? And by the way did I mention caterpillars turn into butterflies?”

I think it’s much better that I stuffed another meatball in my mouth instead.

6 Responses to “But Not Blast-Ended Skrewts”

  1. kristi Says:

    Just yesterday Coco asked if God made circus’. Uhhh, no, people made circus’ & God made the people. And I quote “Nah, I think God did it.”

  2. Leslie Says:

    I thought for sure you were going to say that you had to have the birds and the bees discussion – shows ya where my mind is.

  3. Leslie Says:

    I thought for sure you were going to say that you had to have the birds and the bees discussion – shows ya where my mind is.

  4. Beth H. Says:

    damn, Moo really keeps you guys on your toes!

  5. pam b Says:

    LOL thats hilarious. when benjamin asks why something is a certain way we just tell him its because hashem (G-d) made it that way. and oddly enough he doesnt really question it. do you wonder if your parents had the thought you had that you kept back from moo? or do you think its because we are growing up in such a politically correct time that parents feel the need to add on all that additioanl information? kwim??

  6. KATE Says:

    She didn’t ask how you and Herbie helped God make you? That’s next!


Leave a Reply

