Mary, Mary

February 24, 2009

We had our first rehearsal with Mary the director last night, and because I really wanted to make a good impression, I showed up 15 minutes late.  Unanticipated construction – sigh.  The stage manager said it was no problem when I called, but after I arrived, it was 20 minutes before Mary called me Kit-Kat (this may be because she’s not quite sure of my name, as she often mixes up Julie and me, but I still love my nickname).

We started staging the opening number (called “Yes,” which goes, “Yessss oh yes, OH yesss!” and really sounds like we’re all having sex and not like we’re affirming life’s infinite possibilities, as intended).  Mary’s directing style became quickly clear:  PAY ATTENTION, and if p0ssible, READ MY MIND.  Luckily, I found it possible to do both pretty well.  I put on my good student hat and only completely forgot what I was doing once, receiving a stern, “What on EARTH were you doooing?!” afterwards.  I curtsied and and kissed her ring and hopefully all was forgiven.

She’s stern, she’s a taskmaster, she’s a little scary, and I adore her.

Tonight – a night off.  No rehearsal!  I shall bask in the infinite possibilities (read: whoa, I have a lot of laundry to do).

2 Responses to “Mary, Mary”

  1. kristi Says:

    Kit-Kat is super cute… I think I’d like her even if I didn’t!


  2. […] gave me The Stare after I recovered, and all I could say was, “Too much caffeine, I guess!”  That almost […]


Leave a Reply

