Cocktail Hour

February 13, 2009

Herbie and I recently instituted Cocktail Hour in our house.  We realized we had started a bad habit of heading straight to our computers and hunkering down as soon as Moo went to bed.   So we’ve been enjoying lounging on the couch with our drinks (preferably adorned with plastic cocktail monkeys), chatting about work, and Moo, and oh, all those things that tend to get skipped over when there are dishes to wash/facebook status updates to check out/celebrity gossip to catch up on.  Of course, we’ll have to suspend Cocktail Hour for six weeks starting Monday when my rehearsals start.

By the way, I found out a few days that I have rehearsal six days a week.  WAAH.  That includes Saturdays and Sundays.  Herbie is infuriated at the randomness of having Tuesday as the day off.  Why Tuesday?  Why indeed – there’s not even anything good on TV that night!  Or maybe the director is a fan of “True Beauty?”

Anyway, a sampling of last night’s Cocktail Hour revelations:  Apparently, I’ve been talking a lot lately about wanting to punch people in the face or bash in people’s heads with a stick.  Hey, there’s a lot of crappy stuff happening right now – I’m feeling a little violent.  Also, Herbie does not find “Lost’s” latest venture into time travel confusing at all and cannot understand why I am flabbergasted.  It is QUITE simple, he insists.   Uh-huh.  Maybe if you grew up feasting on Star Trek and Land of the Lost, like Herbie.  

We also discussed the new game that Herbie has taught Moo – it’s called “Organize!”  Herbie is on a one-man mission (because really, I’m hopeless) to save Moo from her parents’ chaotic lifestyle and teach her to be neat and tidy.  When he first told me about it, I admit this is what went on in my head:  (“Bwa-ha-ha-ha!  Good LUCK, buddy!”)  But then yesterday, when I asked Moo to put her shoes on the shoe rack and she knocked a pair of mine onto the floor, she placed them back on the rack and shouted, “Mommy!  I ORGANIZE!”  Then when  Herbie came home, instead of begging him to play “house” or “show,” she ran down the hall after him, screaming, “Daddy!  Let’s ORGANIZE!”

This is my daughter?

They sat in the playroom, Herbie handing Moo toys and singing, “Organize! Organize!  Where does this go, I don’t KNOW! Let’s find out and OR-GAN-IZE!”  Moo ate it up.  He’s like a mister Mary Poppins, or an old cast member from a hip-hop-themed kids’ afternoon show, called “Herbie’s Hip-Hoppy House o’ Fun.”

I’m afraid he’s going to try this whole “organize” thing on me next… he might even bring it up during Cocktai Hour.  Hopefully I’ll react calmly and not threaten to hit him in the head with a stick (a stick which he’d probably just tell me to or-gan-ize!).

2 Responses to “Cocktail Hour”

  1. kristi Says:

    Wow. Once your place is or-gan-ized send him over here, wouldja? Of course, I don’t need it so badly seeing as how I just purged the playroom of 3/4th of the toys. Now they actually PLAY WITH the remaining 1/4 and don’t constantly whine at me, “what can we doooo?!”

    Just send him to my closet. Please and thank you.

    And I can’t tell you how jealous I am of cocktail hour. Siiiigh. Only 7 more months (SOOOBBBB).

  2. from the wings Says:

    If I came over I would not be doing the organizing. I provide the tools, the knowhow. I enable.

    And yes Mama Rose, you are next!


Leave a Reply

