Did You Just Say ‘Roller Skates?’

February 2, 2009

This show (“The World Goes Round,” the new show I’m in, just in case you’re catching up) is officially a musical beast.  I am definitely going to need advice from the pro’s (I’m looking at you, Kate and Fred) on how to keep from losing my voice, because right now it feels inevitable…

I met with the music director today to get all my music recorded so I can learn it in the next two weeks.  There’s still some uncertainty over which songs I’m singing, since one of our cast members may be joining the FBI (or something) tomorrow, in which case they’d have to recast her role.  Dunno.  But I do know some songs I’m singing for sure – my dream song, “Colored Lights,” which feels like it was written specifically for me, “All That Jazz” (WOOOOOOOOOOO!),  “How Lucky Can You Get?” (oh crap), and a song called “Ring Them Bells,” which basically consists of telling a story reallyreally fast to music.  My Grammie always told me I talk too fast, so this should be no problem.  BUT – those are just the solos!  I also sing, ohhhh, lessee – nine or 10 group numbers.  Shit!  I mean, YAY!  But also – shit!

There I was, happily singing along to my downloaded recording, assuming I had all the facts.  But then I sat down with Fawna to record the music and she mentioned, oh, by the way, there are eight songs that aren’t on the recording.  Ack!

So we began the tedious process of recording, and I struggled to keep up as Official Page Flipper while she played the piano, and then we got to a song called “Me and My Baby.”

“Do you know what the ‘babies’ are?” she asked.  Uhhh…I guess I don’t.

“They’re ukeleles.  You all pull them out and start playing them.”

My heart skipped a beat.  I really don’t remember checking “Yes, I can play the ukelele” on the audition form.

“Don’t worry, they don’t work,” Fawna assured me.  Bullet dodged.

Then we got to another song not on the recorded album, “The Rink.”  I was doing my best to follow along with the music (something else to learn: how to read music) and turn the page at the right time when she said, “And you know this song is on roller skates, right?”

Hahahahahahaha WHAT?

“Oh yes,” she said, “You all come out on roller skates and you do a little dance.”

Um.  I haven’t been on roller skates since my 7th grade trip to Great Skate, and I remember falling down much more than remaining upright – in fact, I don’t think I ever made it once around the rink.  Then in high school, my friends convinced me to go roller-blading with them, and I almost died.  I finally figured out how to remain standing, but I didn’t know how to stop, so when we zoomed down a hill toward a busy shopping center driveway, I could only hope there were no cars coming.  But a car DID start to turn directly in front of me, so I had no choice but to throw myself into a nice comfy pile of gravel. Nothing’s more fun than picking out tiny pieces of gravel from your bloody knees.

So consider yourself officially warned:  If you come to the show and sit near the front, I may have no choice but to throw myself right into your comfy lap.  And you might want to watch out for flying ukeleles, as well.

9 Responses to “Did You Just Say ‘Roller Skates?’”

  1. Rosalind Says:

    Yay!! Dark, moody song! Everything else sounds fantastic too. I hope you don’t become one of those performers who refuses to speak in order to preserve your voice. That would make it difficult to communicate, especially on the phone.

  2. KATE Says:

    Give me a call when you want to work on your songs.

  3. KATE Says:

    so is the show fully cast now? Did anyone show up to audition during the Suoer Bowl?

  4. Millie Says:

    “I gotta a brand new pair of roller skates,
    I gotta brand new key.” (who wrote that???)

    The key is on the wall in the kitchen. You can DO this, mamarose! And Yes, I think Herbie would be great and we would support you both in any part that came along. This is an important phase to go through, crash through, gracefull glide through. We love you. Millie and Pfil.

  5. Katy Says:

    Ukeleles and roller skates?? I can’t wait!

    I am also consulting Guru Kate for music advice…*hyperventilates* She has convinced me to audition for Man of La Mancha. *hyperventilates again*

  6. KATE Says:

    As far as preserving your voice. Push from your gut, not your throat. Lift you soft palate and let the sound resonate in the front of your face, not the back of your throat. Let your tongue rest forward, with the tip of it touching the back of your teeth so the back of your throat is open and unobstructed. On long sustained notes, start light by letting the air flow, and gradually get louder, continuing to let the air rush forward. Feel the pulse of the music underneath you.

    Now pat the top of your head and rub your stomach.

    • mamarose Says:

      Wow, I think I am doing EVERYTHING wrong. Think there’s a lot of stuff going on in my throat that should not be. Crap. If I keep this one particular song, I would really love to take you up on your offer to help, ‘cuz there are some notes in there that I’m concerned about. I don’t know if the show’s fully cast yet – they had more auditions last night (not during the Superbowl, they’re not quite that nerdy – although I would have showed up – I AM that nerdy) – hopefully some good people showed up.

  7. Wordslinger for Hire Says:

    I didn’t know you were going to be in Starlight Express!

    NEAT-O!

  8. pam broudy Says:

    oh man.. i think i might have to buy a ticket to phoenix for this one!


Leave a Reply

