What’s Your Secret? Just Lucky I Guess

January 20, 2009

I GOT IT!!!!!!!!!!!

Pant, pant, pant, pant.

I got the call as I was driving home.  Actually, I think I may have gotten the call as I was exiting the parking lot!  I was loitering outside for a while, chatting away, and when we noticed one of the auditioners come outside and open his phone, we realized it was time to skedaddle.  A few moments later, I had a voicemail.  Success! 

Yes, I cried a little.

So it’s official! I’m “Woman #3” in “The World Goes ‘Round.”  It’s a very small show, just five actors singing the songs of Kander and Ebb, and people – I have a solo!  I think more than one!  Holy shit!

So yes, I’d say callbacks went pretty well.  We were a fairly small group, and everyone seemed very nice.  First we danced, led by – let’s call the director Mary after “Mary Poppins,” since she choreographed the movie.  I think I love her.  She led us through some simple steps, directing me to “do it like a singer, not a dancer.”  Then the music director, Fawna, put us in groups and had us sing three part harmonies, which was rather torturous, but I think we all felt that way.  Finally she had each of us sing a song from the show.  On the drive out, I sang along to the soundtrack, and there was only one song, “How Lucky Can You Get,” that I thought – oh jeez, I hope they don’t ask me to sing this song.

So of course, that’s the song I had to sing.  It’s an incredible song – made famous by Barbra Streisand in “Funny Lady” (thank God I didn’t remember that before the audition) – fun to act, and even more fun to sing if you can belt that one high note near the end (“What’s your secreeeeeet?”) – which I cannot.  But I did my best.

And I guess that was good enough!

So incredibly, I’m two for three.  (Never heard from the Sweeney Todd folks.)  How did I get here?  I’m so happy – and yet I can’t help think about all those years, those many, many years, when I was too afraid to audition.  How could such a silly fear have such a huge hold on my life?  What could I have accomplished?  I don’t want anything to change about my life – my Herbie, my Moo – and yet I can’t help but wonder what might have been… what if I could have found success on Broadway, and still somehow met Herbie and had Moo?  What if?

But whatever might have been, is not.  I have my family, I am so very lucky, and for the first time in such a very long time, I feel proud of myself.

13 Responses to “What’s Your Secret? Just Lucky I Guess”

  1. Sonia Says:

    You should feel very proud of yourself. You’re a wonderful talent but more importantly a wonderful wife and mother. Don’t look past too much, just enough to learn I always say, and look forward at the bright future. Can’t wait to see you in this show! Merde 😉

  2. Beth Says:

    AWEsome!!!! Way to go, Mama Rose! Yes, Sonia is right on both counts: you SHOULD feel very proud of yourself, and don’t live in the past. Live and learn and make the most of TODAY. So happy for you!

  3. Cat Says:

    {{big hug}} I can’t wait to watch you on stage from the audience. If it’s anywhere close to watching you from the stage – I’m in for a great show.

  4. from the wings Says:

    Proud is definitely the word.

    Here is a transcript of the voicemail that I got right after the callback: MamaRose, “I got it! I got it! I got it! I got it! I got it! I got it! I got it! I’m driving home and they called! I’m in the show! I’m in the show! love you! Bye!”

  5. Leslie Says:

    WAHOOOOO!!!!
    This is super exciting!
    Congratulations.

  6. pam broudy Says:

    big big congrats!!!!!!!!

  7. Katy Says:

    YEAH!! I’M SO THERE. Congratulations!

  8. Katie Burke Says:

    THIS IS SO EXCITING! I LOVE reading your blog, as I get the play-by-play on you living out your dreams. I am so happy that you’re showing off your talent; you have so much of it.

    I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. You have a family, and you have a long standing (admittedly, with breaks) career as an actor. Everything you’ve done until now has led to this fabulous life you have.

    You are brilliant. Congratulations. I’m beaming over here.

  9. Millie Says:

    Whoooo Hoooo! We are so happy for you!

  10. KATE Says:

    I feel like a proud Mama Rose! Oops, that’s you. Disregard my other message, I am reading your posts backwards and was confused.


  11. […] 28, 2009 So, my new show (”The World Goes ‘Round”) has hit a snag already, and rehearsals haven’t even started.  When I spoke to the music […]


Leave a Reply

