Dress for Movement

January 19, 2009

As per my experts’ advice, I called back my callback, who told me, yup, come dressed for movement.

What does that mean, anyway?

Well, it definitely means that I cannot, as Kate recommended, arrive wearing what I wore yesterday, because I cannot even sit in those jeans, let alone move in a dancelike manner.  I had to unbutton them just to drive there, and then of course I forgot that my jeans were unbuttoned until I was almost to the door and had to duck behind a palm tree to button up.

So what to wear?

I only have two pairs of jeans – very uncomfortable, can’t-sit-down jeans, and very comfortable jeans that stretch out after 20 minutes and make me look like I have a saggy bottom, or like I pooped in my pants. 

But I don’t think I’m supposed to come decked out for dance, am I?  AM I?  I don’t really have any cute dance clothes, anyway.  I think it’s going to have to be the poopy pants jeans.

Complicating matters even further, I REALLY WANT TO BE IN THIS SHOW.  “The World Goes ‘Round” – I have the whole soundtrack now, and I love every single song so much (except for “Cabaret,” which sounds like a cover by Manhattan Transfer).  I NEED to sing these songs.  Ohhhh I want it so badly.  And I’m dying to work with this director – I know I could learn so much from her.  I mean, remember that scene in “The Sound of Music” when Liesl goes leaping from bench to bench in the gazebo while it’s pouring rain outside?  I remember watching that movie as a little girl, watching Liesl leap high into the air again and again, and thinking, “I want to learn how to do THAT.”  And the choreographer of that moment is directing the show!  Oh, oh, oh. 

I want it too much.  I know I do.  It will hurt if (when?) I’m rejected.  But I guess it’s like the song goes – “One day it’s kicks, then it’s kicks in the shins – but the planet spins, and the world goes ’round and ’round and ’round and ’round and ’round and ’round… “

4 Responses to “Dress for Movement”

  1. Sonia Says:

    Ya had to go and mention the gazebo scene. I LOVED that scene! Great, NOW I’m freakin’ out too. Jeez Louise. Guess I should go figure out what to wear now, eek!

  2. KATE Says:

    By the way, if you check the gazebo scene carefully, Liesl has a bandage around her ankle. She injured it practicing. The show goes on!

  3. Katie Burke Says:

    You are absolutely hilarious, Mama Rose. I will be thinking about your poopy pants jeans all day … but not in the creepy way like that sounds.


  4. […] 24, 2009 We had our first rehearsal with Mary the director last night, and because I really wanted to make a good impression, I showed up 15 minutes late.  […]


Leave a Reply

