A Query for all the Actors Out There…

January 19, 2009

Um, excuse me, what happens at a callback?

BECAUSE I GOT ONE!!

Weeeeeee!

Just as I was leaving my second audition, feeling a little blue (they were not so impressed, I think), I turned on my phone.  Voicemail!

(And this is the part where I hopped in a circle like a bunny in the middle of a parking lot.)

I got called back for “The World Goes ‘Round” at Desert Foothills Theater.  Oh joy!  Oh bliss!  Ohhhhh no!  What happens at a callback?  What do I do?  And am I supposed to call back my callback and tell them that, yes, I accept this callback and called back to tell you so?

Am I supposed to prepare another song?  Are they going to make me sing with other people and expect me to read music and sing harmony?  Oh dear!  Not so good at that, right off the bat.  Eep.  Eep.  Are we going to dance?  SHOULD I WEAR A LEOTARD?  WHAT ABOUT LEG WARMERS?!

Hop, hop, hop, hop, hoppity hop hop.

9 Responses to “A Query for all the Actors Out There…”

  1. Katie Burke Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! You have such talent. I’m glad they saw it.

    Bring a Mary Poppins-sized bag (the director will appreciate this!) and put everything you might possibly need in there, leg warmers included. Then you’re prepared for any circumstance.

    And yeah, spend more time learning every possible song they might ask you to sing! You don’t need anyone else to tell you this, but I’ll say it anyway: the more prepared, the better. You’ll be more relaxed that way.

    I’m not an actor, so I’ve got nothing on the other questions.

    I am so happy for you.

  2. Sonia Says:

    1st..yay! I got one too so we can sweat this callback stuff together 😉

    Next..
    Yes, call them back and let’em know yes, thank you, I’ll be there, what should I bring?

    Every theater seems to run callbacks in their own way so ask, ask. I usually assume they’ll have cold read’s from the script (dunno if there are many lines in this one though)some singing from the score and dance. I asked if they wanted us to dress for movement and they said yes so you’ll get to show off your amazing dance skilz. See ya there!

    And finally…
    bring you flask with enough for the both of us! 😮

  3. Sonia Says:

    1st..yay! I got one too so we can sweat this callback stuff together 😉

    Next..
    Yes, call them back and let’em know yes, thank you, I’ll be there, what should I bring?

    Every theater seems to run callbacks in their own way so ask, ask. I usually assume they’ll have cold read’s from the script (dunno if there are many lines in this one though)some singing from the score and dance. I asked if they wanted us to dress for movement and they said yes so you’ll get to show off your amazing dance skilz. See ya there!

    And finally…
    bring your flask with enough for the both of us! 😮

  4. KATE Says:

    Get the recording of the show and listen to it over and over. Call and ask if they are going to ask you to sing one or more songs from the show AND LEARN THEM. Make acting choices during the song. Use the technique you learned in school.

    Wear the same clothes to the callback you wore at the audition. Warm up both physically and vocally before going there.

    Close your eyes. See youself at the callback. See yourself mesmerizing a row of auditors with your presence, appeal, intelligence, and emotional power. Visualize being told you got the part. No go to the callback with confidence!

  5. Wordslinger for Hire Says:

    See… Its good that there are people on here who actually go to these “callback” things as my advice would have been to wear the leotard (and insist on pointing it out while referring to it as “my new leo”) and leg warmers (in an obnoxious ’80’s hue) a be ready with an interpretive dance outlining the play followed by 20 minutes of miming.

    I think the other suggestions will hail better results. (although we could have built a website around the video of my idea and cleaned up!)

    Congratulations!

  6. pam Says:

    congrats!!!!!!!!!


  7. […] 19, 2009 As per my experts’ advice, I called back my callback, who told me, yup, come dressed for […]

  8. Cat Says:

    YEAH!!! Knock ’em dead!


Leave a Reply

