Sunday Approacheth

January 17, 2009

So yes, I did actually get around to picking up the damn phone and making those audition appointments.  Hooray?

This Sunday at 2:10, I audition for Desert Foothills Theater’s production of “The World Goes ‘Round,” a Kander and Ebb musical revue (they’re the guys that wrote Cabaret and Chicago).  It’s only a five-person cast, three women, two men, and they’re looking for “singers who move well.”  I think I can safely say I’m more of an actor/dancer who can sing sorta okay.  I think I could bump singing up on the totem pole if I had (lots of) lessons (perhaps from my dear Kate, the bonniest Kate that ever was?), but for now, I’ll just have to give it my best shot.

Three hours later, at 5:15, I have an audition for “Sweeney Todd” at Theater Works.  I think I’d have a blast in the ensemble, if we were blessed with a music director who gave us a little more instruction then just suggesting we “find a note.” 

So I’m all set to get my audition on (aw yeah), but the only teeny tiny problem is I have no idea what I’m going to sing.  Freaking singing.  I wish I could bust out “Old MacDonald.”  I really do a divine chicken squawk.  But no – Desert Foothills would like a ballad AND an uptempo song.  Theater Works would like a song written by Stephen Sondheim (the mad genius composer of “Sweeney Todd.”)  So like a good little auditioner (auditionee?), I made the trip to the central library downtown and poured through all the music books.  I had my list all ready of the songs I needed – but unfortunately every single score I needed was checked out – clearly I have an unknown nemesis out there who is trying to sabotage my quest.

So I am at a complete loss.  I have no idea what to sing.  If I think about it too long, I start to panic, but if I don’t think about it, I will find myself standing in front of the auditioners (auditionators?) with nothing to sing.

What the hell am I going to do?!?!

5 Responses to “Sunday Approacheth”

  1. Katy Says:

    YAY!! Infinite broken legs and merde!
    I’m so happy you decided to audition for Sweeney Todd!

  2. Wordslinger for Hire Says:

    You’re going to do well… That’s what you’re going to do.

  3. kristi Says:

    Hush Little Baby

    followed by

    Froggy Went A Courtin’

    Done and done!

  4. Rosalind Says:

    You are ready for this. Be confident, you are amazing!

  5. KATE Says:

    Merde, mud in your eye, break a leg – you’ll be fantastic! And call me to set up those voice lessons!


Leave a Reply

