Yes He Did

November 5, 2008

Did anyone else cry during that speech?

I mean, I didn’t, no no NO – but, you know – I was just wondering if maybe any of you wusses had tears falling into your glass of wine.

Also, I just have to share – we were rehearsing hard all evening, checking Tim’s laptop every chance we got (Tim is a genius!) as we slipped on and off stage, and we began to see some sketchy news that maybe Obama had won.  Then we ran through the opening number one more time, and afterwards J the director said to Susan the stage manager, “Susan, do you want to tell them what you told me?”

“McCain conceded,” she said.

“WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!” I screamed at the top of my lungs, pumping my fists in the air – while the rest of the cast…. remained silent.

Turns out Susan needs to speak up more – but also, apparently a lot of my fellow cast members do not know what the word “concede” means.  Yikes!  Let’s get going on that education-reform, President-Elect Obama.  (Sniffle, sniffle) – What? I have allergies…geez.

P.S. – I really did not like Michelle Obama’s dress.  Love the woman, but that dress looked like it had been spray-painted by a PETA protester.

2 Responses to “Yes He Did”

  1. Beth Says:

    yes, I cried – & I’m not ashamed to admit it. this is big-time stuff, people! Less than 200 years ago, most black people were SLAVES!!! And even though I can’t believe it has taken THIS LONG for a black person to be elected, on the other hand, in the grand scheme of things, it hasn’t been that long to travel sooooooo far.

  2. liesl Says:

    the dress? doesn’t matter to me. After all, she’s not out there to make a fashion statement. Smart people don’t need to dress up to make a point, but that’s just my opinion.


Leave a Reply

