Pre-Halloween To-Do List

October 30, 2008

1.  Wake up early, shower and get ready
2.  In shower, figure out costumes for Herbie and I
3.  Drop off Moo at my mom’s house by 9:00 a.m.
4.  Stop by Michael’s to get feathers for Moo’s Caa costume cap
5.  Fresh & Easy – dinner
6.  Back home by 11 to clean, do five loads of laundry, and carve three pumpkins.
7.  Pick up Moo at 3:00 p.m. and enlist mom to help me make Moo’s Caa cap.
8.  Somewhere in there, dye tights yellow for parrot legs.

How it all actually went down:

Woke up at 9:15, sat Moo in front of Caillou (Halloween episode, yay!), threw on clothes and brushed teeth.  Dropped off Moo at my mom’s house at 10:30, had a tea party and discussed costume options until 11:45.  Oops.  First stop:  Target.  Figured out Halloween costumes – Since Moo is Caa, Herbie and I will round out her stuffed animal entourage and go as Turtle (Herbie) and Hop (me).  Spent an hour roaming Target, searching for turtle shell possibilities and something fluffy for me.  Ooh look, Christmas decorations! …Finally came up with fleece vest and garbage can lid.  Turned out they wouldn’t let me buy just the lid, even after explaining to the manager how cute it’s going to be when we’re all dressed up as Moo’s favorite animals, but Target is lacking in Halloween spirit and makes me buy the whole garbage can.

Then on to Michael’s; spent another hour trying to find the perfect feathers, deciding on green spray paint (latex? glitter? metallic? eek), and vascillating between the 2-inch and 3-inch yellow ribbon.  Afterwards, decided to stop at Walgreen’s since husband keeps bugging me because apparently he cannot POSSIBLY be a turtle unless his head is entirely green – procured green face makeup AND green eye pencil at Walgreen’s – internally declared myself Awesome Wife.  While I was at it, grabbed some black eye pencil and pink lipstick for a bunny nose and whiskers.  Then on to Fresh & Easy – orange chicken, broccoli – voila! Dinner.  Oh, and maybe some cinnamon rolls, we probably need more wine, and perhaps they carry that brand of hummus we discovered in Seattle?  Got in the car and realized it was 2:30, I was supposed to pick up Moo in 30 minutes, and I hadn’t even taken a shower, let alone started one load of laundry.

Damn.

One Response to “Pre-Halloween To-Do List”

  1. kristi Says:

    Seems like that’s how most of my days go…


Leave a Reply

