Parenting Lesson of the Week

October 28, 2008

So last night we learned what happens when you take your small child on a fantastic pumpkin patch adventure, let her chase after her 8-year-old cousin all day, and choose to let her skip her nap since you really want to meet your Seattle friends for dinner at a cool Mexican restaurant:

Nightmare Baby Meltdown.  In Public. 

Eep!

She fell asleep in the car on the way to the restaurant, and seemed happy enough when we woke her to eat, but when she took her first bite of cheese quesadilla, she suddenly realized it was the most offensive thing EVER to have crossed her lips, and promptly freaked out.  Three “pumpkin walks” around the neighborhood later, we gave up and sped home. I think maybe I ate some delicious enchiladas with pumpkin seed cream sauce, but I can’t be sure.  I spoke about 50 words to Dave and maybe seven to his lovely wife Melanie.  Moo ate goldfish crackers and animal cookies for dinner.

Never, NEVER skip the nap.

Lesson learned.

3 Responses to “Parenting Lesson of the Week”

  1. pam Says:

    oh.my.hell. yah we dont skip naps in this house. the ILs dont entirely understand and sometimes think that bman doesnt need one.. uh WRONG. yah.. they turn into demons, eh? sorry it sucked

  2. Laura Harvey Says:

    Whats everyone doing for safety precautions for Halloween? My husband came across an article (http://i-newswire.com/pr220892.html) with some info about background checking neighbors. I thought that may be a little overboard, but it had some other good suggestions for some precautions I haven’t thought about. Last year my youngest son came down with a massive fever after Halloween. I almost thought about just taking the kids to our church’s fall festival this year instead of door-to-door to prevent that from happening again. I don’t know yet. What’s your advice? Am I over-reacting or just being a concerned mom?


Leave a Reply

